Standing on the Shoulders of Giants

Taking from the great works of these men and women in hopes that one day I might put back great literature of my own.

What I’m aiming for with this whole “project” if you will is not to write fan fiction. Yet I’ve been drawing ideas from a fan-fic blog. It’s a great starting point that has given me a push in the right direction but it feels lacking in what I’m looking for. Currently I’m in the search for a great blogger that writes original stories. Not short stories but full on novels. I’d love any suggestions so feel free to comment some below.

Despite all of that, I ended up writing a fan-fic of sorts for an activity: I had to come up with a 100 word story using parts of well-known quotes from Shakespeare’s Hamlet. They were “Something is rotten in the state of _______” and “revenge ____ foul and most unnatural murder.”

The exercise was interesting for two reasons. It really challenged me to come up with a concept and furthermore think of a way to introduce, elaborate, and conclude it within 100 words (87 if you exclude the words from the quotes). I typically struggle with just starting to write and seeing where it takes me rather than establishing structure to the plot. Next there was the idea of drawing inspiration from literary giants. Emulation I believe it’s called. Taking from the great works of these men and women in hopes that one day I might put back great literature of my own.

I’m still getting my creative juices flowing. Only enough to get the first few lines of the first chapter out of myself. But without further ado, I present to you all…

“Knight of Vengeance”

Knight_of_Vengeance

Something is rotten in the state of Gotham: a city where the rat-ta-tat of machine guns and screams broken and breathless lull its denizen into an apathetic slumber. But the silence that night rang louder than any boom or bang the city had ever known.

Something is rising from Crime Alley’s inky shadows. As Thomas cradled his son, his heart grew colder with the lifeless blood running down his white sleeves. With every drop that splattered onto the dank concrete, his crippling grief became rage unquenchable.

There was no other way but revenge to this foul and most unnatural murder.

One thought on “Standing on the Shoulders of Giants

  1. The excellent description you provide in this story is highly atmospheric and gives a good feel for the city of Gotham. I hope we’ll see more passages resembling this in your novel, which going by the plot you provided is well-suited for this sort of writing.

Leave a Reply

